Myra Lee

2005-10-01 - 10:37 p.m.

Newsflash: Law school is sort of hard. It�s probably not that hard for academic-like folks, but for me, it�s exhausting my feeble faculties.

I was invited to a taco-y-margarita dinner party by school people tonight. I�ve managed to fall in with a crowd of nice people, but I haven�t been partaking in many schoolish activities. I�m especially not feeling it tonight. The party is in Santa Monica, for one thing. And for another thing, I can�t endure talking about school or sports right now. I do enjoy (some) sports and can talk about the sports for a while. I just can�t do it for very long stretches. And these law school peoples, they loves their sports. I really should�ve gone, but here it is 9:30 and I�m puttering about drinking champagne. Erik is recording some especially bombastic music in the other room. I think this is the first time I�ve slowed down in the last month. Thank the baby jebus for Branderslice and Team Neal + ANTM on Wednesdays. They're my contacts with the outside world.

Even when I allow myself to abandon the studies, it�s to embark on senseless distraction-style tasks of organizing my t-shirts and alphabetizing CDs and cleaning our refrigerator like a speed freak. You know what sucks? Cleaning the refrigerator. I did find some curious items, though, like mint jelly and 300 different kinds of mustard. If anyone needs any mustards, just holler.

I�ve been trying to put my finger on what makes law school so crazy, aside from the ridiculous volume of reading and the fact that 100% of our course grades are based on our final exams. (Can you believe that? Each exam is an eight-hour affair, and our entire semester grade is based on that performance. No pressure.) But all that aside, I think the real pisser is the obnoxious writing style of judges. Damn judges! They use 5,000 words to say something that could�ve been said in five. A pox on you, judges.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria