Myra Lee

2005-08-26 - 11:23 p.m.

The wedding seems like it happened a year ago! I can�t believe it. From what I remember, it was beautiful. Really beautiful. (And thank you so very kindly to everyone who said nice words of congrats in the guestbook!) I just finished my first week of law school, which is not exactly beautiful. It�s every bit as high-pressure and sink-or-swim as I�d thought it would be. I�m just now coming up for air. But so far, I likes the school. I like reading cases. I�m a fan of stories, and cases are stories.

My new classmates are very clean looking. Shiny and accomplished world travelers and speakers of many languages. At orientation, we had to go around the room and offer up ten-second explanations of ourselves. People were like, �Hi, I�m Brett. I graduated from Columbia with a double major in finance and international relations, and I spent the last three years working as an investment banker on Wall Street!� and �Hi, I�m Marie. I graduated from Stanford and founded AmeriCorp and ended hunger in Chad!� Then me: �I spent the last four years making calendars.�

It�s Friday night and I�m working on a paper. Just to be cute, law school makes us write papers, even though they don�t count toward our final grade.

Erik is at band practice. The band gets back together around this time every year to play the old Orange Street Fair and Gram Fest. Our hot apartment is finally clean and quiet. I love the end of summer in Southern California.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria