Myra Lee

2005-06-24 - 2:47 p.m.

My boss is a crazy lady. She�s like the guy in Office Space who�s always convinced he�s getting fired. This week, she�s convinced she�s getting fired because her annual review with the company president is scheduled for 4:30 today. Her exact words, "Why else would he want to see me at the very end of a Friday if not to give me the ax?" Moments ago she called me into her cubicle and whispered, "On Monday morning, you�ll know I�m a gonner if these three items are no longer on my bookshelf�" and dramatically pointed to three crappy little fake plants. I wanted to say, "Maybe you should lose the silk flowers even if you don�t get fired?"

This weekend is going to be awesome: sushi tonight with Mr. and Mrs. Poor Elvis, the proud new owners of a 1984 turquoise Cadillac. Bridal shower with lovely people tomorrow, thrown for me by the sweetest nugget on Earth. (What did I do to deserve such a wonderful friend?) A kickball tournament on Sunday. Last weekend at a party after a few drinks, I developed an inflated estimation of my own kickball abilities and talked a lot of smack about what a hotshot kickball lady I am. But I don�t think I am, in fact, a hotshot kickball lady. Well, we shall see�

And now, let us join hands, sing Koom-ba-ya, and wish Jeannette a beautiful wedding day tomorrow!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria