Myra Lee

2005-05-24 - 10:09 a.m.

I have three days to decide if I am, indeed, going to law school, as my deposit is due on May 31st. This is how I usually make decisions: wait until the very last possible second and then dive in (or opt out). I�ve done pros and cons spreadsheets, and I�ve drawn up five-year plans. I even sketched out a ten-year plan, but that was too weird. I would say I�m 85% set on going. The other 15% is coming from the part of me that thinks maybe I should consider auditioning for Cirque du Soliel or teaching English in Chad or (more realistically) going to school for an MA in art history. A lot to think about. But the circus thing is probably out.

I do apologize for wedding blather. This will be the last of it, I swear. My mom was feeling a little hurt that I hadn�t assigned her a wedding task. It hadn�t occurred to me to ask her to do much, but then I thought of a swell plan: she can create the slideshow! My mom is a librarian and gets nutty with PowerPoint and iDvd and other such multimedia applications. I�m usually opposed to the slideshow ordeal at weddings, but we realized we could project it onto the wall in the courtyard of the place. And we thought it would be accompanied by "I�ll Be Your Mirror" or music from Amelie. Or something. In other words, I thought it wouldn�t have to be schmaltzy. But yesterday my mom called and told she�d already started working on it and had set it to the song "Butterfly Kisses." I think we�re going to have a creative conflict here.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria