Myra Lee

2005-05-03 - 8:50 a.m.

This past weekend was whirlwindy and I�m still exhausted. Friday night was a small birthday gathering/bbq. I consider a birthday event a big success if I don�t drop the cake�I once dropped the cake at the conclusion of singing Happy Birthday, and to this day I can sense my friends� nervousness when I cross the room, coming toward them with alighted candles.

Saturday I had lunch with Grammix. She�s 92 and she�s finally starting to seem elderly. She woke up a few nights ago with a mysterious cut on her head. On Saturday, I changed the bandage for her, and when I saw the cut, my heart hurt so much I thought it might explode. Oh my god, that feeling of seeing an injury of someone you love so much. And realizing how helpless she feels. And knowing how much it pisses her off to feel helpless. You know how parents always say they would gladly take on the suffering of their children rather than see them in pain? For the first time in my life, I really understand that.

The rest of the weekend was a blur�gallivanting around LA, seeing this vintage video game-themed exhibit, shopping at Giant Robot, eating a lot. Oh, and maybe we had a Riding the Bus with My Sister viewing party on Sunday. And maybe some of us wore special outfits for it.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria