Myra Lee

2005-04-18 - 12:56 p.m.

Ooh boy, things are moving fast with this wedding monster. It really is a monster and it keeps growing.

Erik�s parents are visiting from Boston right now, so they met my dad and his crazy ladyfriend (Karen) this weekend. It was a hoot. Karen told us all about the 55 feral cats she�s been feeding. They have names like Fuzzgirl, Rocky, and Brett. I do not kid; she named a cat Brett. I will say she was on her good behavior and only drank about 10 glasses of champagne. Actually we all got somewhat sloshed.

And yesterday there was an impromptu family potluck at Aunt Margie�s. Again, there was lots of champagne and toasting. It�s really starting to feel like a giant season of celebrating. Erik�s family is so much fun, and everyone is so happy for us. I�m very lucky. Everything feels right.

However, it�s really starting to irritate me how expensive wedding stuff is! I swore up and down I would avoid the wedding racket, but it�s tricky. The industry has become so skilled in separating people from their money. Goodbye money! Fortunately, I have a swell business idea: one of my bridesmaids has an aunt who�s in jail. Aunt Dixie. And she�s a hell of a knitter. She sends my friend incredible ponchos and scarves all the time. So, here�s the pitch:

Prison Knits! Made by a real-life felon! Accept no substitutes! And maybe the tag could feature a photo of the prisoner/knitter. I�m sure there are laws that would prevent our plan from getting off the ground, but Aunt Dixie is rearing to go. I think it would be a hit with the ironic crafter kids. Erik is working on the web site.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria