Myra Lee

2005-03-16 - 1:02 p.m.

I haven�t been sleeping for days and days. I think it�s due to a magic combination of big-decision-related anxiety (school), money-related anxiety, and your average run-of-the-mill free-floating anxiety. Hooray! The other night I finally dozed off around 2:00 AM, and then woke to sound of myself shrieking. I was standing in the middle of the room yelling, "Turn on the light! Turn on the light!" I was absolutely sure a spider had crawled across my face. But it wasn�t your average spider, oh no. It was a bright yellow spider. And it was cold and wet. It was more like a cross between a spider and sea anemone and a Wacky Wall Walker. It was very Life Aquatic-ish. It took me several minutes to really wake up and admit that a giant yellow sea-spider probably hadn�t crawled across our bed. But you know that feeling of sudden freakout pounding-heart hysteria? I had that feeling.

A few hours later, I sensed the cold sea-spider on my face again. Wouldn�t you know it, my gluttonous cat (Mr. Blue) was pressing his wet nose on my face? That�s his newest trick to get me out of bed to tend to his food bowl. The bastard.

I�m trying to work through lunch right now. That never seems to accomplish much. Rather, I never seem to accomplish much. I just sit here feeling angry. I would like to mention what a dear friend Branderslice is to me. She and Querida Edwin went to lunch at one of our favorite places, a restaurant we call The Green Squirter. It�s a Peruvian place with the most delicious bread. And the bread is served with a bottle containing a scrumptious green concoction. I don�t know what it is�some sort of glorious cilantro/garlic/basil paste. Today Brandis left for lunch armed with a coffee filter and a styrofoam cup, vessels for smuggling squirter paste. I�m so excited! I�m a very lucky lady to have friends who steal squirter paste for me.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria