Myra Lee

2005-02-15 - 5:17 p.m.

Today in the workplace I�m proofreading a giant stack of quilts patterns. It�s even more boring than it sounds. It really is. I now know where the expression "bored to tears" originated. Surely it was first spoken by someone else who had to proofread quilts patterns and started crying with the mind-numbing drudgery of the task?

Yesterday for Valentine�s Day, I spent two hours at the gym. It was very romantic. Erik and I aren�t big Hallmark Day observers anyway, but he�s been working from home on a project that�s almost as tedious as proofing quilt instructions. His project involves programming Flash, however, so it can be infuriating, as well as monotonous. As I ascended the stairs into our apartment, I heard him shout, "God DAMN it!" And that led me to believe there was probably no candlelit dinner and diamonds and lace surprise awaiting me. And he was in one of those work-induced trances that render you unable to eat or move. So off I went to the gym. I keep meaning to write about my gym�it�s a funny little hovel in Long Beach, and it seems to be the very last 24-Hour Fitness on Earth that�s not been upgraded to "Sport" status, which means it�s dirt cheap. But there are some real creatures who frequent the place. I know I am one of those creatures, with my ill-fitting, "Enjoy Cape Town!" t-shirt with a hole in it. But I�ve got nothing on some of these other patrons�

I have to return to the quilts. Grrr quilts�we have a little patio with some picnic tables outside of our department, and as soon as the weather warms up, us editors will be doing our work out there. I know I certainly will. I keep picturing myself out there with one of those beer drinking hats. I would proofread my little heart out if I had one of those.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria