Myra Lee

2004-12-13 - 3:56 p.m.

Things are so very lovely these days. Yay for things. The company Christmas party I was dreading turned out to be pretty swell, since I won two awards. (Two!) And the awards were accompanied by fabulous prizes. I�m a sucker for approval (and prizes), so I was happy as a clam. As everyone knows, clams are very happy animals. One of the awards was for "Most Creative Worker Bee" or something like that. It was actually flattering. And it was nice to be recognized for my ideas, since a certain loudmouth art director has been known to take credit for just about everything.

When I got home from that affair, there was a big bouquet of red-and-yellow (USC colors) flowers waiting for me. From Erik. The best boyfriend in this solar system.

This weekend was Operation Holiday Cheer. We got a tree, got drunk, watched Star Wars, baked holiday treats, wrapped presents, and attended a beautiful shindig thrown by Ms. Edwin, who had prepared all kinds of Christmas goodness. And their apartment was a holiday wonderland. And nice people were there. Also in attendance was a guy I met when I was 15 (he was 26). He used to play in a somewhat well-known band, so I was starstruck. The night I met him, I had just gotten my braces off, so I thought I was The Shit. So much The Shit did I think I was, I blatantly lied to this guy about my age. I said I was 20. (Twenty! What was wrong with me?!) It was a very bad move, since it only led to a lot of confusion and more lies when I had to come up with excuses why I couldn�t drive to LA to meet for dinner. I couldn�t bring myself to speak the words "I don�t have a driver�s license." Anyway, we lost touch after a while, and I hadn�t seen him in 13 years. He remembered me, which was surreal, and we talked for a while. But I still couldn�t bring myself to confess that I was a little lying teenager when we�d met. Reason #52 that I�m wary of having children is because I fear karmic payback. I was a rotten teen, and if there�s any justice in the world, I�ll end up with a hellion. I couldn�t handle it.

We had friends over last night to watch the Survivor finale, but I�m so irritated by the season�s results, I can�t even talk about it. Actually the highlight of the evening was when my friend Beth told us a story about the Christmas party she�d gone to the night before. Everyone was supposed to bring a $10.00 present for a gift exchange. She wrapped an issue of Rolling Stone with a little note: Give me your address and I�ll sign you up for a year�s subscription. Anyway, the winner of her gift was Liz Phair. Isn�t that a great story?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria