Myra Lee

2004-11-09 - 10:01 a.m.

So, Erik�s nephew is turning two in a couple of weeks, and the boy is obsessed with armadillos. I had the bright idea that I would order an armadillo stuffed animal for his birthday. The thing arrived today, and it�s so scary. It has little slit-like beady eyes. And a mean little smile. I don�t like the look of it. I left it sitting on my computer chair, which is where I often toss undesirable things that come in the mail, and the little fucker has scared me not once but two times this evening. I keep walking into the dark office and getting startled by it. It�s so real looking. Erik admitted that he was taken aback by it, as well.

The second time I was scared by the plush armadillo, I made a squawky noise. The sound I made was just like the noise my mom makes when she�s startled. Growing up, my brother and I cleverly referred to our mom�s sound as �The Noise.� Anyway, I get really mad at myself when I make The Noise. It�s shrill and bird-like.

Speaking of strange sounds, Erik is �experimenting� with the pedal steel right now. I would hate to be our neighbors.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria