Myra Lee

2004-11-02 - 4:22 p.m.

Dear Lord, I can�t take the waiting. Just let me wake up and hear that Bush/Voldemort have been ousted. Please!

I arrived at my polling place (the local synagogue) bright and early. And I waited quite a while to get in there and cancel out my Mom�s vote. And tensions were high. There was some confusion about splitting us up into a "green table line" and an "orange table line." And an extremely tall lady who looked a lot like Tim Burton made an awful shrieky noise at one of the volunteers. It was only 7:05 AM, which was way too early to hit the piercing notes this woman was hitting when she screeched, "Well if this is going wrong, I wonder what else is going wrong??" The rest of us stood in our green and orange lines and stared at the ground.

It was definitely the longest I�ve ever waited to vote. In my first election (1996), I just scooted right in and voted for Marsh Feinland. I was young and misguided. I thought I was a great American hero when I ticked "Peace and Freedom Party."

In other news, Brandis and John�s Halloween party was so very lovely�from what I remember. The costumes really were spectacular. My pal Billy was a spot-on Milton from Office Space, complete with Initech badge, red Swingline stapler, and an authentic moustache that he�d grown out deliberately for the costume. There was a great John and Yoko, a dazzling Hunter S. Thompson, a Ghandi who was mistaken for a condom and/or a penis all night (due to the flesh-colored rubbery bald cap). John and Brandis were so perfect as Frida Kahlo and Diego. I was a low-rent Holly Golightly.

I had high hopes for Erik�s costume. The vision came to him early Saturday morning. He just woke up and said, "I know what I�m going to be!" You see, we were all instructed to come as someone dead�Erik�s idea was to come as someone who was/is (hopefully) about to be metaphorically dead by dressing as George W. Bush and wearing a sign that said "4 MORE DAYS." His idea for the costume was to wear a black suit/white shirt/red tie and a chimpanzee mask. Unfortunately, chimpanzee masks are pretty hard to come by, and he had to settle for being a generic gorilla-like monkey. It really didn�t come across, and no one guessed who he was. And he couldn�t find a pair of contact lenses, so he wore the crappy mask (bought from a little teeny tiny munchkin lady selling random crap out of the back of her van in an unsavory section of Long Beach) over his glasses. And his glasses kept fogging up�you get the idea.

Anyway, look at the beautiful altar of party treats and Dia de los Muertos paper mache trinkets that Brandis made!



<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria