Myra Lee

2004-10-01 - 10:17 a.m.

Overcast Friday + Kerry�s ass whooping of W. + the segment on Hidden Kitchens on NPR this morning sure has put me in a cheery state. Even though I was super late, spilling Peet�s all over myself, and the muffler of my nightmare of a Saab sounds like it�s going to fall off any second, there was joy. There is joy. There was this special Latina woman featured in the Hidden Kitchens piece who shared a lovely song that she apparently sings whenever the household runs out of tortillas. The song�s lyrics were, "There�s no tortillas! There�s only bread! There�s no tortillas! There�s only bread!" And she belted it with full-power vibrato-filled Charo-like passion. I love her. And I think I will bring her canci�n into my household�s canon of songs. We already have many songs, but this tortilla number was a winner.


Erik�s old band was supposed to play an event in Joshua Tree this weekend called Gram Fest, a li�l festival in honor of the late, great Gram Parsons. But that�s not happening for reasons I�m unclear about. I was really looking forward to an excuse to go to Joshua Tree, but now the weekend is wide open and full of promise. Whatever shall I do? I have $33 dollars to my name until Monday and a car that�s about to explode, so the possibilities are limitless! Weekend, ahoy!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria