Myra Lee

2004-09-09 - 6:37 a.m.

I�m supposed to be working from home today. Supposed to be. It was decided that I could write silly fill-in-the-blank books from home when it became clear just how much the crazy art director has been bothering me. My two bosses (kinda like My Two Dads but not really) sat with me and explained how sorry they were that the beastly art director has been so unbearable. They suggested that maybe I just needed a day to rest and work in peace. How right they were. Still, the whole thing feels very childish, and I spent the whole morning working on my law school applications. Yippeee.

I�m hitting up one of my Semester at Sea professors for a letter of recommendation, and I decided to enclose a photo of us on the ship to remind him of who I am, as it�s been six years since I went on that lovely voyage. As I was digging through shoeboxes full of travel photos, my heart swelled up with a ridiculous amount of wanderlust�god I love traveling. It�s been a long time since I went to a brand new foreign place and found my way around. I really want to go to Madrid�did I mention I have a free ticket to Europe? Even a nice road trip would do.

My good friends (Mr. and Mrs. Poor Elvis) are in Tokyo right now. I just re-watched Lost in Translation in their honor.

I�ve also spent this day of not working from home reading the McSweeney�s Comics issue, which features a great melancholy (yet inspiring) intro by my boyfriend, Ira Glass. I love this: One of my oldest, most solid feelings is the sulky feeling of preferring to be on the bottom, sad and apart from others. It�s still there today, waiting for me if I have a bad week, like a bad robot ready to come to life. That�s the dark-but-happily-dark feeling I got reading Charles Schulz�s strip.

I can feel the bad robot trying to come to life right now. I need coffee. I really must work. Away with you, bad robot!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria