Myra Lee

2004-09-07 - 9:39 p.m.

Oh huge sigh, it was a glorious long weekend. Simply glorious. I ate many meals with friends, had a nice party, saw movies, lounged, read, went for a run on the beach, etc. etc. I even had a facial, since I uncovered a gift certificate to a swell spa when I was digging through an old purse. It was better than finding a $100 dollar bill. Well, maybe not, but it was a great treat!

But the holiday high all went away when I came into work this morning. Branderslice�s boss (the art director I can�t tolerate) came in and immediately started yelling at poor Brander, who hadn�t even had a chance to do anything wrong. Suddenly, at 9 AM, there was yelling. I have a policy against yelling, and it�s pretty much a blanket regulation: Don�t do it. But at 9AM on the morning after a three-day weekend?! If you feel the need to yell at this hour, get yourself some therapy, you crazy, joyless lady. Honestly.

So, my mood went south. So, so far south. I can�t believe how long I�ve been putting up with this job! And speaking of going south, my old workplace just posted an ad for an editor position on mediabistro. I�m tempted to go crawling back to them. I left on the nicest of terms. The only problem is that they�re in South Orange County, which is far from me. And it�s a pretty gross culture down there. (You can�t really call it a culture.) The other problem is that they know I�m planning to go to law school. I�m still in touch with several people there, and one of my old work pals told me they�re all cheering for me in my future career path. So, I can�t imagine they�d say, �Sure! Come work for us for eleven months!� Or maybe they would�? I�m not too proud to beg at this point.

So, anyway, one sucky day seems to wash the three-day joy away. But fortunately, Erik and I came home to find the beautiful Apostle of Hustle CD awaiting us in our mailbox. It�s so great! And since we had a refrigerator full of party leftovers, we were able to cook up a delicious dinner, featuring �Mexichetta! As one might guess, �Mexichetta! is a Mexican version of bruschetta. Instead of basil, there is cilantro and diced jalape�o. And I love it so. So, we sat out on our little rooftop patio listening to the new m�sica gloriosa, eating tasty treats, drinking leftover party booze, enjoying the sea breeze, talking about the future. Thank the lord for the future, no?

Here is a blurry view of our li�l patio:

And here is the view from el patio:


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria