Myra Lee

2004-08-12 - 8:30 p.m.

I had dinner with my grandma (Grammix) last night. We went to the chicken pie establishment near her retirement community. When Grammix was surveying retirement locales, she knew she�d found the right one when she realized it was near this chicken pie restaurant. She likes it because they don�t scrimp on the chicken.

I love Grammix. She�s 91 and so fiercely independent. She worked as a stockbroker until she was 89. She just rules. She has been referred to as Das Grandma in certain circles (my friends), as she�s been known to make a racist remark or two. It�s odd because she�s pure class, but every so often (usually over Christmas dinner) a horribly inappropriate remark will fly from her lips (usually about the Mexicans).

Over our pies, Grammix and I were discussing my brother�s new-ish girlfriend. There�s been great concern for my brother among the elders of our family, since he�s 33 and still single. This really troubles some folks. So, Grammix said, �Christopher�s lady sure is a wonderful woman.� I agreed that she is, indeed, a wonderful woman. Then Grammix said, �She�s bright, she�s outgoing, she�s so polite. She�s just wonderful.� And as I nodded in agreement that she is quite bright, outgoing, and polite, Grammix tacked on, �You wouldn�t guess she was Mexican.�

I thought it was best not to tell her how my brother�s girlfriend recently told me she dreams of getting married in Vegas by a Charo impersonator.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria