Myra Lee

2004-06-08 - 10:15 a.m.

I had such a great (albeit whirlwind-ish) trip to Chicago. My hotel was downright glorious, right on the river, across from those Yankee Hotel Foxtrot towers, with a view of Lake Michigan and the Wrigley Building. I�m such a hotel cheapskate, I would never have seen the likes of this place were it not for the company hook-up. But all it takes is a couple of nights of luxury, and I�m convinced I was meant to be rich.

Every time I go to Chicago, I like it more. Granted, I�ve only visited in June and September, so I have no understanding of what it�s like when the icy wind "comes off the lake," as I hear it does. I just wish I could�ve stayed longer. Last time the company sent me to Chicago, I completely shirked my business duties and went and saw a bunch of Bloodshot Records bands. This time I was roped into co-worker outings, although I did escape for a bit and meet up with an old friend/former co-worker for a looong wine-filled lunch.

And, of course, the highlight was seeing Wild Bill. His speech was muy inspirational. Here�s my blurry picture of him:

There�s lots more I wanted to yap about�about how attending Book Expo affords a repellant yet alluring glimpse into the NY publishing world�about how that damn Dream Company up in SF is putting out the greatest book for those of us who would like to be Canadian�about how I can�t sleep or eat because I�m such a nervous wreck about taking the LSAT next Monday�

But I have to proofread a catalog now.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria