Myra Lee

2004-04-15 - 10:39 a.m.

Bullet Pointy Scramble Fest 2004:

� I adore Chris Ware. The Ira Glass/Chris Ware experience at Royce Hall last Saturday was one of the most amazing, inspiring live spectacles I�ve ever attended.

� There�s always something so life-affirming about attending readings by brilliant writerly folks. All the black-glasses-wearing npr nerds emerge from their hovels and gather together, and I always want to leap up swinging a shawl around and exclaim, "Yes! These are my people!" It�s just nice to feel a sense of community. You really have to seek that out in Southern California.

� Easter at my dad�s was a treat until my dad�s girlfriend drank too much and started explaining how we�d better start preparing for the apocalyptic earthquake that is most definitely going to strike Southern California on September 5, 2004. She recommended investing in earthquake glue. What is earthquake glue?

� After the earthquake prophesy, she started complaining about every last member of her family, people I don�t know and will probably never meet. Why don�t people understand it�s painful to listen to rambling tales about people you don�t know and will probably never meet??

� I traded in crappy old VHS tapes and got enough credit to purchase the new Tortoise, that Nashvillian Bonnie "Prince" Billy CD, a Calexico EP, and a b-day treat for Branderslice�s husband. Yay! I wish I could buy everything I needed by trading my old, unwanted junk.

� In my workplace, we have to fill in "time sheets" detailing how long we spend on each task throughout the day. I resent this. Just once I want to fill in a morning like this: 8:30-8:45: Update my Netflix queue; 8:45-9:15: E-mail friend about Survivor predictions; 9:15-9:45: Forage for leftover Easter chocolate; 9:45-10:00: Purchase tickets for Handsome Family show; 10:00-10:15: Walk around the building with work pals; 10:15-10:30: Send my brother an obnoxious happy b-day e-card featuring a frightening big-headed baby dancing to Abba; 10:30-10:45: Discuss lunch plans with work pals; 10:45-11:00: Skim slew of redundant, micromanaging e-mails from my boss; 11:00-11:30: Stroll into warehouse and admire the shipping supplies; 11:30-11:45: I.M. with friend regarding Spike and Sofia�s breakup and his rumored affair with Karen O; 11:45-12:00: Update online diary. 12:00: One hour of FREEDOM!

� Contrary to what my Fantasy Time Sheet might indicate, I�m actually accursed with a Protestant work ethic. I�ve learned to keep it in check, but I�m still a spaz at times. And I feel listless without goals. So, my two biggies in the Goal Department are: #1: Score 175 on the LSAT on June 14. #2: Run the Long Beach Half Marathon on October 4.

� These are very lofty goals, and I�m already exhausted from preparing. The woods are lovely, dark and deep�miles to go before I sleep�miles to go before I sleep�yadda yadda.

� I made little signs saying "175" and planted them all over my apartment. I hope I don�t fail.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria