Myra Lee

2004-04-07 - 10:26 a.m.

Is it the weekend yet? I won tickets to the Ira Glass and Chris Ware affair at Royce Hall this Saturday. I�m really excited, as I put off buying tickets, as $40 per ticket seemed awfully steep. Once an inconvenience charge got tacked on, it would�ve been nearing $100 for the two of us. Erik and I were planning on showing up at the box office early to await some sort of "student rush" situation. But that was starting to sound un-fun. Anyway, last night KCRW had a giveaway, and I swooped in like the ticket-winning phool I am.

Almost as exciting as winning free tickets to see my boyfriend Ira was getting to talk to Cindy Burke, the NPR local news afternoon hostess. Erik and I always turn up the radio and hoot and holler when her wacky traffic reports come on, because she - invariably - messes up. And she seems to have a fondness for reporting on "kooky" traffic hazards, such as mattresses in the road, a pedestrian walking along the freeway divider, or "Look out! It�s a fallen palm tree!" Erik can do a brilliant Cindy Burke impersonation. It goes something like this: "Heading south on the 405�make that the 5�make that the 105�we have a trash barrel�a trash can�a trash bag�in the number 2 lane�make that the number 3 lane." Well, it�s funnier when you hear it. I swear.

This weekend is booked, and I can�t wait. My brother�s lovely lady is having a housewarming party. Because she is Mexican (and quite proud of it), I am filling a pi�ata with little bottles of tequila and Vagabundo chili pops and Mexican flags and treats and carne asada. Well, maybe the carne asada isn�t the best idea? And maybe no glass items either? We�ll see. She sent out very funny invitations that said something like, "Some call it �Passover��others call it �Pass out naked in the kitchen without pants�' " She is going to burn for that, maldita.

Tonight is ladies� night. We are getting pedicures and eating yummy greasy food at Coco Renos and watching trashy television.

Also, I spotted a very cool-ish job in L.A. that I�m excited about. I may not have a chance, but I�m going to try. And just that thrill that comes with thinking about a new possibility�it�s giving me a natural high.

Natural high!


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria