Myra Lee

2004-03-08 - 1:54 p.m.

Hooray for the heat wave! I�ve been pretending it�s summertime for days. Living by the ocean makes heat waves nice. Last night, sitting and reading by the open window and smelling night-blooming jasmine while Erik recorded music (a lovely whirring sound), I felt restored to life.

We helped my 91-year-old grandma move into a retirement community on Saturday. I adore my grandma. She worked as a stockbroker until she was 89, and she�s still completely lucid and sharp. She�s just slowing down. Although it was her decision, she�s not thrilled about moving into this place. But as far as these places go, it�s pretty nice. Her new next door neighbor came over to say hello and mentioned that she would�ve stopped by earlier, but her masseuse was occupying her time. So the place has masseuses. And the food looked spectacular. And there are a lot of trees and sprawling lawns. In fact, we were so dazzled that my brother, Erik, and I came up with a brilliant idea for a film: a wacky heist called Assisted Living about some recent college grad slacker guys (Vince Vaughn, Owen and Luke Wilson, Will Ferrell) who dress up as old men in order to live in a deluxe retirement community. Think Bosom Buddies meets Old School. We worked out all the details. It�s going to be a hit!

Other weekend successes include: purchasing dirt cheap teak patio furniture, acquiring Iron & Wine @ The Knitting Factory tickets, planning a Memorial Day Weekend trip to Mexico, and getting through all the Netflix DVDs that had been collecting dust. Weekend failures include: forgetting there was an instore (a twangy band called The Idaho Falls) at Fingerprints last night and forgetting that my dear pal at Fingerprints has been holding a copy of the new Patty Griffin for me. I need to get my paws on that CD!

It�s good to be alive. It's sucky to be cooped up at work proofreading crappy gift products on a glorious day like today, but it's good to be alive.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria