Myra Lee

2004-02-27 - 11:05 a.m.

Well, I can�t stay away from d-land. What�s that called? A compulsion? I have stories to tell! Stories about modeling for my friend�s company�s photo shoot and running from the law on the desolate train tracks of the Los Angeles Harbor with fuchsia eye paint all over my face. And stories about befriending the law and taking photos in the fancy cars of the law. And stories about how I�m taking the LSAT in June.

As for my aforementioned blunder, I shall not speak of it. And I feel like a big spaz for having made such a vague yet dramatic sky-is-falling post. Because - as it turns out - the sky didn't fall. It rarely does. I should know better!

I can�t say enough about my favorite song of the week: "Enjoy Your Worries, You May Never Have Them Again" by The Books. Nor can I say enough about the book I�m reading Who Will Run the Frog Hospital? by Lorrie Moore.

Last night was one of those beautiful Thursdays at the Irish bar at the beach with friends. I�m so lucky to have the friends I have, I feel all verklempt just thinking about it.

Tomorrow I�m driving down to my dad�s seaside shack to have lunch with him and his nutty lady. You know how some people just have a calming presence? Just being around them makes you feel reassured and peaceful? My dad is like that.

And Sunday I�m hosting a little Oscar shindig. Last night there was talk of costumes. Mrs. Poor Elvis is coming as Christina Ricci from Monster, and another friend is coming as Aileen, complete with teeth. Erik is dressing up as Peter Jackson. I�m not sure what I should be. Arwen? An orc? Scarlet Johanson w/the pink wig? Maybe I�ll dress up as Seabiscuit.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria