Myra Lee

2004-01-08 - 1:30 p.m.

Week of nonstop rock came to a grinding halt last night. The Phantom Planet instore seemed a lot less appealing when I saw the throngs of alternateens swarming around the building. Then I remembered I don�t actually like Phantom Planet. They�re cute, but that�s different. And I don�t do well in crowds. And I heard a little rumor that the P. Planet boys had made a big primadonna fuss when they showed up with four tons of equipment (for an acoustic set) and demanded they be served Baba Ganoush. Hmph. So, Brandis, Dan, Erik, and I headed to Coco Re�os for delicious greasy Mexican food instead. And went home and watched a long commercial for Rooney, which was pretty much the same as watching Phantom Planet.

Today at work we had a lunchtime full of birthday-related Forced Fun. I feel cheated. My lunch hour is mine. My own. My precious. Then I had to unload all my laundry money when the Forced Fun bill collector came �round, as the Mandatory Fun was only sprung on us today mid-morning. And we were given no warning that it was not sponsored. That was a sad little moment, pouring my miserly quarter collection into the pot.

My brother just e-mailed me and said, "Does your job ever feel like a puppet show?" Why, yes. Yes, it does.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria