Myra Lee

2004-01-07 - 11:53 a.m.

Kristin Hersh (50 Foot Wave) was so great last night. She is my kind of woman. I just adore her personality, how she�s got so much energy and such a great sense of humor, how she played such a pivotal role in music for years and years, how she�s so small and yet this enormous voice and power comes out of her. Her hands are so tiny, and yet she kicks so much ass on guitar. I was standing right in front of her marveling at how effortlessly she brings the rawk on that sassy Gibson SG. The woman has had four children, struggled with serious mental problems, seen the rise and fall of women in rock several times over. People just don�t know. Well, some people know; I stood next to a jolly-pogo-dancer guy who drove out to L.A. from Chicago to see the show. His name was Matt, and he didn�t get the memo that people in L.A. just stand there and look bored at shows. Yay for Matt. She closed with "Your Ghost," which stirred up very old, strange memories for me. Other than that, the set was all new songs that were all about hard, fast, drivey rock.

It was great to see my friend Kristine. It was not so great to get lost driving around downtown L.A. The Silverlake Lounge is kinda like the Bermuda Triangle. I�ve been there 20 times, but I always get super turned around (despite my Magellan-like sense of direction) and get horribly lost. Every time.

Tonight Phantom Planet is doing an instore at Fingerprints (the record store at which I live). In my humble opinion, the good lord doesn�t make boys much cuter than these. And since this is turning out to be a week of nonstop rock, I will be there. Bring the rock! Bring the cute boys! Fingerprints, ahoy!

In other unrelated news, my workplace recently published some crappy products by this terrifying Anne Geddes-wannabe lady who dresses up babies in terrible costumes and takes pictures. Babies covered in feathers playing trumpets, babies lying in the woods wearing garlands of sticks and berries, babies getting married. Why do people do this? Leave the babies alone, for fuck�s sake. This woman just sent me her "exciting new images," and they�re terrifying. I think she drugs them with baby crystal meth before the photo shoots. They have really glazed expressions, even more glazed than the typical inability-to-focus baby gaze. Poor little hopped-up babies.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria