Myra Lee

2003-11-05 - 9:44 a.m.

This morning I went to the gas station to indulge in a $4.25 drive-thru car washing. My car had never looked worse, since it was still covered in ash from the fires, and the ash had been covered with several layers of beach funk.

There was a tall, pretty, stylish girl at the gas station, and something lame had happened with the gas pump. Apparently, it didn�t pump, but it still printed out a receipt saying it had charged $14 to her credit card. I can understand being annoyed by this, but she was hysterical. She was screaming at the gas station attendant. I could see her flailing about when I was inside waiting to pay. When I came outside, I caught these choice words shrieked at the attendant: "I swear to GOD, if my credit card gets charged twice for this, I�m going to come back here and rail on your ass! You�ve already made me late for work, you frickin� RE-TARD! I swear to GOD! What the fuck is wrong with you people?!"

What makes people act like that? I wanted to walk up to her and give her $14 and say, "I have no idea why you think it�s OK to scream at people like that, and I feel sorry for anyone who has to tolerate you. Will this $14 make you stop acting like a raging bitch?"

I didn�t. I had sudden visions of her stabbing me.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria