Myra Lee

2003-09-24 - 1:49 p.m.

I wish I was still in Austin, not here at work, buried under color proofs. I loved it there. I love college towns. And I love just about any place with rolling hills and trees a-plenty and a progressive (liberal) vibe and a thriving music scene.

Austin City Limits was amazing. There were so many highlights. The whole long weekend was a long giant highlight. Here�s a stream of consciousness summary of it all: I adore Patty Griffin. The Shins were great, and - judging by the new songs they played - the new album is going to rock-ock-ock. (I was sure I�d spotted Elyse backstage, but it was an imposter.) Yo La Tengo made me yawn, but maybe that was because it was Sunday (Day 3) afternoon, and I�ve seen them do their InSync-like choreographed dance number a hundred times. Well, at least three times. Are the Old 97�s only famous because Rhett Miller is the hottest guy alive? I can�t get into them, and one would think they�d be my cup of tea. One would think. They butchered "Ring of Fire" during the Johnny Cash tribute hour. With the exception of that fiasco, the tribute hour was great. They played some footage of Johnny Cash playing the festival in 1987. New guilty pleasure: Tift Merritt. Erik and I camped out to get up close and personal with The Polyphonic Spree. I almost touched the hem of The Great One�s robe. It was a cloudy day, and the heavens seemed to part while they were playing. Everyone in the crowd was singing along and jumping up and down in the euphoric pogo leap style. I think I pulled a muscle amidst all the euphoria. R.E.M. was great. They didn�t play my favorite R.E.M. song, which is "Sawn Swan H." but they didn�t play many an oldie. I sure did enjoy the dancertainment of Beatle Bob. I like fancy dancers. I�m gonna steal his moves. I ate some pretty gross fair food (gross in a good way), but even I wouldn�t go near the offered Texas Frito Pie or the Fried Snickers. I have my limits, Austin City Limits.

There is much more I�d like to type about, but I am being buried alive beneath massive amounts of color proofs.

One more thing: Guess who�s going to breakfast with Radiohead on Monday? Me and Kristine, that�s who.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria