Myra Lee

2003-09-08 - 9:53 a.m.

Last night, my lovely, charming, talented, sweet-as-can-be friend Emma had an opening reception for an art show. She�s showing/selling several paintings at a little gallery in Venice. Some of my favorite people were there, including the hilarious Bonfert. I suppose everyone has a friend who should�ve been cast as one of the Fab Five. Bonfert is mine. Some of my favorite conversations of the evening�

1. There should be a heavy metal/prog rock band of guys with OCD. They can call themselves OCDC. (My friend Poor Elvis has already written their first hit: Disorder of Order.)

2. Maybe Mr. Bush�s next war can be another nation building project, this time in Liberia. He can call it "Manifest Destiny�s Child" and our protest slogan will be "Not in Beyonce�s Name!"

3. Something involving a really catchy song that went "Don�t get pecked by the soda chicken�The soda chicken can�t tell the difference between Gina Gershon and Debbie Mazer�"

Hmmm, these aren�t so funny in the retelling (we weren't high), but really, the soda chicken diddy was hilarious. I swear. Bonfert�s plotting a video project around it. I love my friends.

Now I�m off to eat at my favorite 2nd Street breakfast place (Babette�s Feast) and to see American Splendor.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria