Myra Lee

2003-08-12 - 9:08 p.m.

This weekend was another grand summery whilrwind, except for the part where I worked a lot.

Friday night was a Fielding (unplugged) show at The Gypsy Den in Santa Ana. They played an old upright piano instead of a keyboard, and Beth played a lot of violin and accordion. They played a new-ish song that may actually qualify as a love song. The chorus featured Eric and Beth harmonizing the words: Let�s go upstairs and disappear. It was so purdy and stirring. And I�m not just saying that because I�m biased. Really.

Eric and Beth are some of the nicest people I know. I especially love the song in which Eric says (of Beth): i�ll take the richness that we have before the coldness that i see in them. �cos i like your warm heart, i like where it�s heading, the sweetness there, the sweetness over there

Well, it doesn�t translate in the typing of the lyrics, but I just can�t say enough about how much I appreciate the sincerity of the Fielding folks.

On Saturday morning, I met Branderslice and the Bag Lady for coffee at Portfolio. It was Bag Lady�s idea, since she�d spotted an ad for a slew of sidewalk sales throughout "The East Village Arts District." We strolled along, purchasing old crap, some of it cool, some of it just plain crap. Branderslice scored on a beautiful, old Great Gatsby-ish patio chair. And I bought a lovely scarf for �25. [Today on Marketplace, David Brancaccio said, "Scarves are the new Birkenstocks." This confused me. Are Birkenstocks en vogue? Where have I been? Or, was he saying that scarves are the new accouterment for playing hacky-sack in Phish concert parking lots? I'm unclear.] I considered buying a thriving basil plant that had been lovingly cultivated by its proud parents, a charming gay couple. But it was $40 and I have a black thumb. It would've been death for no reason and death for no reason is murder. Well, I guess it would've been death for delicious pesto...that's not murder.

We discovered the LBC has its own Koo�s. (Again, where have I been?) We wandered through some galleries and decided we all wanted to buy something (anything) by this really talented local assemblage artist. I�ve seen his stuff around for years (he�s prolific), and always loved it.

When Brander had to rush off to a b-day event, Bag Lady and I returned to Portfolio for iced tea. I don�t do enough sipping of iced tea while sitting on sidewalks with friends. I�m so glad Bag Lady suggested the Saturday morn outing. I usually sleep my weekend mornings away. And she�s a really great, positive, inspiring person, even when she�s talking about how she's certain Jesus Christ was an extraterrestrial or how humankind has never landed on the moon. I love her.

The rest of the weekend was devoted to more freelancing for La Compan�a de Mis Sue�os. I did manage to fit in a late showing of Seabiscuit, a tender, overwrought tearjerker. (My tears are easily jerked.) I was annoyed by the way the movie sorta belabored its own themes, which can feel like an insult to one�s intelligence. But I just love William H. Macy, and I was in the mood to like the movie. There are so many other movies I want to see: Dirty Pretty Things, Whale Rider, Le Divorce, Winged Migration, 28 Days Later, The Secret Lives of Dentists�this is not your standard Summer Blockbuster offering, nossirree.

And now it�s time to go look at the big yellow moon and try to spot Mars.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria