Myra Lee

2003-08-02 - 2:47 a.m.

I�m pulling an all-nighter. As in, no sleep at all. I can�t remember the last time I did this, but I�m pretty sure it was finals week, senior year of college. I�m certain I�ve never done this since becoming a 9-5 worker bee. Well, not for work-related reasons, anyway.

I�m supposed to e-mail my spectacular 120-page document of edits (that includes massive rewrites and a few unsettled "issues") by 9 AM tomorrow (today). It�s mostly done, but I want to run some of the tricky stuff by my SF pro-editor friend. And I can't decide which is worse: 1.) sending it on time with the risk of it having a few errors, or 2.) sending it a day late all sparkly clean and perfect-o. My heart tells me to go with #2, but my conscientious overachiever/Virgo/GATE-student still small voice tells me to meet that deadline! This is sort of like my inner perfectionist arguing with my other inner perfectionist.

Tonight, while my friends were out playing, I was editing my lil� heart out when I heard someone tap at the screen door. Then they said, "Hellllo?" I was in my special place of editorial fussiness, and I thought it was just the female hippie neighbor coming to ask for�Jack Daniels? I dunno. I just ignored the first hello. Then it happened again, and I went to investigate. It was my friend! I really like this friend and haven�t seen her in forever. (I wrote a ridiculously long entry about trying to go to her birthday party last year.) She came by to deliver an invite to her b-day party this weekend. The artfully crafted invite says this:

It�s my birthday and I want the gift of music.

This year my birthday is all about me�and you�and the music we love.

The Story

A couple weeks ago, I was sifting through my CDs and found some albums I haven�t listened to in years. So I put them on, skipped to my favorite tracks, and immediately felt my heart pound remembering how great the songs were and how much they meant to me.

Then I decided I wanted to spend my 33rd birthday with you and our music.

The Plan

So this year, Kyriakos and I will be hosting a music listening party where we can all sit back and relax and enjoy while each of us takes turns spinning our favorite songs.

I want you to bring along three songs you love. They can be songs we all know or songs none of us have heard of. The point is not so much to impress with amazing tunes, but to share a part of yourself with those gathered.

So�dig up and bring along three of your favorite tunes, preferably on CD.

She's a nice one, this friend. I'm already fretting about the notion of favorites. Just three favorites?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria