Myra Lee

2003-07-24 - 8:35 a.m.

My favorite part of last night�s shenanigans was seeing my friend Kristine. She was the "House Manager" at the theater and ran the lighting. As ET said, "her work was seamless," as a good lighting tech�s work should be.

Anyway, Kristine has been such a good friend to me over the years. I don�t know many people with the kind of giving nature she has, not to mention her uniquely beautiful way of seeing the world. And speaking of uniquely beautiful, last night we discussed her most recent endeavor: Smile Savers. She signed up for some sort of two years worth of unlimited studio time at the Sears portrait center. Let me explain, Kristine has an incredible wig collection and an amazing gift for costuming herself to look as horrible as possible. Taking photos of ourselves looking appalling is a fun party activity for us, and I think she really has a gift. Probably everyone has a friend about whom they say, "Jeez, so-and-so really should be on Saturday Night Live!" Kristine is my friend who should be on SNL. And she has big plans for the Sears portrait membership, including the use of her most recent purchase of wigs called "The Biblical Series." We�re going to look great in those.

And somehow, even though she�s always just fucking around, Kristine�s self-portraits end up having a Cindy Sherman-esque quality. I love Cindy Sherman.

My other favorite part of last night�s ballyhoo was eating at Birds. Every time I hang out up there, I want to move to Beachwood Canyon. I think I�m meant to be a Lady of the Canyon. Just call me Canyon Myra.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria