Myra Lee

2003-07-25 - 12:32 a.m.

Tonight I dragged several friends to the Tamarind to see my friend - Anna - in a play. One friend in particular had every reason to refuse to come, as I�d already dragged her along to see a terrible low-budget movie Anna was in a few months ago. In the movie, Anna had one line. The line was, "Menopause! I�ve heard about that!" I was worried tonight�s play would be more of the same, but it was fun. And funny. And enjoyable. And Anna�s friend had written it. The cast was four girls. They�re all Vassar grads trying to make it as young starlets in Movietown. And I hope they do.

I�ve been hard at work on the freelance gig. And I�ve been riddled with self-doubt. It�s not like the work is hard or demanding. I�m just a spaz. I can second-guess myself into a state of paralysis.

Other stuff�

Last Saturday, ET and I headed to the lovely villa of Scott and Jen for Sir Scott�s b-day bbq. I had to run out and buy a present that morning. I always feel like I�m running out and buying presents at the last minute. I can never plan ahead, and I wish I was a better gift giver. Scott and Jen happen to be amazing gift givers. They always remember something you said three years ago and find the perfect thing.

Later that night, we headed over to The Space (a warehouse in an unsavory section of Long Beach inhabited by various quasi bohemians). We made it just in time to see our friends, the lovely folks of Fielding. They were a breath of fresh air amidst the ironic 80s shenanigans and same ol� tired LBC bands. But then, I�m biased; I love Fielding. They�re great people.

Many thanks to the amazing Jetbot for the three super cool pins. Don�t miss out.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria