Myra Lee

2003-07-10 - 1:20 p.m.

I�m still not getting back into the swing of things being back at work. I suppose I�m never really "in the swing of things," but I do have bursts of no-nonsense multitasking and productivity. I am all about nonsense right now.

I crawled in here yesterday with a bad case of Post America�s Next Top Model Depression and was greeted with a post-it on my monitor asking me if I could "take over the Blow In" for a product I�ve been working on. My pal Brandis has already commented on the silliness of the term "Blow In." I�m always amused by corporate lingo. (But is "Blow In" really official corporate lingo? I think it was the brainchild of an in-house smarmy sales guy. He�ll say anything.) As it turns out, a Blow In is simply a sheet of paper with instructions or handy tips added inside a gift product. Who knew?!

Another editor here loves to hear herself say official-sounding things. During a meeting last week when asked about the status of one of her projects, she said in all seriousness, "I�m ready to talk turkey with these guys."

Talk turkey?

But then, who am I to talk? I�m currently avoiding a photographer because he wants to talk turkey. In this case, talking turkey means asking why the hell hasn�t he been paid yet. I avoid talking turkey if at all possible.

Only a few more hours till we escape and head to L.A. to see a documentary on Nick Drake. I realized that for all my love of Nick Drake, I�ve never seen any actual film footage of him. I�m so used to being saturated with sundry media of all my favorite bands and singers.

Speaking of favorite singers, last night I received a tip off about a BCBG sale - up to 70% off at all stores. Although I have no money to spend on clothing, I have wandered wistfully through BCBG many a time, so I thought this was my chance. (It wasn't.) I dragged Erik down to Fashion Island, and as we were approaching I said, "Gosh, the music sure is loud." And he said "Gosh the music sure is awful." And I said, "I remember rollerskating to this song." And he said, "Is this Whitney Houston?" And I said, "No, it�s that horsey lady." And he said, "Shannon from ANTM?" And then there she was�Taylor Dayne! Performing live. Surrounded by Orange County mall shoppers swaying and cheering and hooting. The crowd was on fire. It was quite an event. All I�m sayin� is that I found this article and I am so very excited about August 6th. Loverboy.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria