Myra Lee

2003-06-27 - 9:07 p.m.

I�ve been having second thoughts about trying to train for a marathon. For a few months, I thought it was a swell idear. I�ve been doing it. I was following a mileage buildup program I found online, but I seem to have plateaued at 4.5 miles per day. I could probably push myself to start running five or six miles, but my biggest gripe is that it takes me too damn long to run that far. Looking at the big picture, I can�t help but mourn the time I�d be throwing away just running and running and running. I did some calculations on how many hours I would be devoting to running during the 36-week-long training program. I�d be spending hundreds of hours running. Something about it seems wasteful. Especially when I have shelves of books I want to read, essays I want to write, a cello to practice, a piano to play, CDs to make, a Polaroid transferring class I want to take, letters to write, Smashball to play, naps to take. I think it would be incredibly rewarding to run in a marathon�but all those hours spent running. It�s sick.

After running forever tonight, I (and Erik) met my dear pal Brandis and her husband John at a great divey taqueria up the street for margaritas. See, it�s margarita season. It�s not marathon season. The summer evening air was so rich and warm and invigorating. I was able to forget about my job, my worries, my growing fears that I'm never going to get my shit together and be a responsible adult. I don�t want to throw in the marathon towel just yet, but for now I am young let me lay in the sun and count every beautiful thing I can see. I will never be this young again.


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria