Myra Lee

2003-06-25 - 7:10 p.m.

I fucked up at work. No, no, not in the way that one might expect. Not in a Myra-lee was humming �Maybe Far Away� from Annie to herself, staring out the window, and neglecting her workload when the company owner walked by kind of way. No, in a real way. I made a mistake in my proofreading duties. Not a little mistake. Here�s the mistake: I didn�t notice that the last two letters of an author�s last name had mysteriously dropped off the front cover of a product. I - apparently - reviewed the proof and deemed it A-OK to print sometime back in April. My big fat initials were on the color proof signifying "OK To Print!" (I must confess: When this was discovered today, I stole that color proof with my big fat initials and destroyed the evidence. Not that it matters now that the company that employs me has printed 60,000 copies of the product.) It was really a big mistake, and I�m not proud. For all my griping about my job, I really do try to be an ace proofreader extraordinaire. And what�s more, I didn�t catch the mistake. Dear Edwin was milling about in my workspace, picked up the printed product that I was supposed to be checking but had shoved to the farthest corner of the cubicle, and wondered aloud, "Why does it say �__� and not �____�?" The fucking author�s last name is wrong! If I worked for a real publishing company I would be fired!

Anyhow, the two bosses above me seemed nonplussed. They�re more concerned about bigger issues, whatever those are. As Dear Edwin offered consolingly, "If Senior Editor isn�t running around announcing it with a megaphone [as Senior Editor is prone to doing], you�re fine."

In other news: oh-sweet-pea sent me her zine, and it�s - go figure - really sweet. And inspirational. I�ve really enjoyed reading it!

I�m escaping to Mexico for a few days soon. I love escaping to Mexico!

I'm tempted to go see The Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players tomorrow night. They're a group that consists of two parents who exploit their nine-year-old daughter who is the star and drummer of the band. The band has been highly recommended, but I'm wary.

I got a letter today telling me a Modigliani exhibit will be at L.A.C.M.A. soon. I know it�s clich�/mainstream/whatever to love Modigliani, but I do. I liked Modigliani before I�d taken any classes or knew how to "officially" like art. And I aspire to someday work in the publications department of L.A.C.M.A. Do you think they would mind if the front cover of the newsletter said their name was L.A.C.?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria