Myra Lee

2003-06-20 - 8:44 a.m.

Dear Edwin and I just went to an art opening of John Van Hamersveld�s work. Our workplace publishes a ca1endar of his 60s album covers. We drank wine and ate cheese and amused ourselves. I have to say, I�m easily excited by even the most modest portions of gravy that are handed to me; the littlest excursions here and there keep me believing that my job doesn�t suck. And I did have quite a carrot dangled in front of me today in the workplace when I was presenting my new product ideas: Mr. Owner said that if my next presentation is spectacular, Dear Edwin and I may be sent abroad to examine the international paper product goods. I�m not sure what he meant (his English is pretty odd), but my first thought was: Birmingham! I know there�s an Autumn Paper Product Fair there�but I won�t live in hope. Not for that, anyway. Although Ms. Edwin and I would have a marvelous time, to be sure.

Tomorrow night I�m going to a beach party. An old work pal of mine is having it. The scent of beach firepits ranks among my most favorite smells. The top five would prolly be:

1. Pirates of the Caribbean (the ride at Disneyland)

2. The mountains/trees, especially Redwoods

3. Beach fires (this smell is a double feature, as it includes the smell of ocean, too)

4. Freshly cut grass

5. Drakkar

OK, that number five was a joke. My seventh grade boyfriend wore Drakkar, and - at the time - I thought that made him a sexy devil. Is there a worse smell than Drakkar?


<< Previous - Next >>

here are some words |older words |say hi |here i am |the land

art by Ida

design by K. Maria